Mic Check 1….2….2016!

I started off confused on the aspect of concern to focus this write up on, having been (inadvertently) mute on here for over half a year. I wish I could say it was all for good goals and consequently i’d produce appealing evidence of it, but, well, sadly that might not be entirely true. For some days now I’ve been deleting drafts upon drafts, getting worked up obsessingly trying to think up something like a catchy-embracing intro, that’d portray relevance back to my…uhh… self. Something like what Obama would draft. So if you’re reading this already, obviously i did not find such a draft. Pity.

In any case, i’ve just gotten a little broken free from the cuffs of literary incarceration. A lot of times I caught myself sniffing up and down these blog streets the chances i got, just not enough to align my thoughts in coherent sentences (which could have grown into paragraphs and pages and posts! oh noooooo). But I’ve promised myself it will change this year (sidenote: research by noone really shows promises made to self are less likely to be taken seriously by ‘self’ but when other humans or wagers are involved, promises made to self can be given second and third thoughts by ‘self’. sidenote end). So this But I’ve promised myself it will change this year becomes I will try to improve because I want to and I can. A lot has happened. A ‘changing’ lot.

To start off the change resolution conquest, I got together a 2015 comprehensive summary, on the last day of December. Something (I know not of) was missing so I scrapped it. A ‘Beginning of The Year’ piece but…just.. not…good. Undrafted it immediately. Your eyes would have bled. ‘New Year and A Day Later’ piece. Cancel. Cancel. Cancel. 3 to 4 to 5 days later and no article worthy of a HomeComing BlogComing piece.

Thus alternatively, I thought to cheaply chip in my own two-cents resolution speech. Let me ramble through it and hope it makes sense, its scattered everywhere in my head. Some people think they can pray and make a year perfect. But all-year-round ‘rosies in the park’ are just for musical movie scripts only. That is to say, just as you had sucky days or weeks sometimes in your previous year, this year would have some of those too. It’s the paraphrased Law of Murphy, and it paraphrasingly states that Bad things will happen to you just as well as good things, because bad and good things are likely to happen to a person. This year will only gross you out a little less than the previous year did if you can discern better the best of bad situations, and recognizing that it is as simple as aspiring to improve on yourself, at whatever feature – health, career, knowledge, sports, character, skills…etcetera. Failing this, you’d stay the same, only moving at whatever direction the wind blows. You will just be barely average or a little below. You don’t want that.

In essence, this year, have reasons to feel good about yourself. The keyword being Improve. A not-so-kind friend once told me this, not-so-kindly, ‘there is a fatality about good resolutions,—that they are always made too late.’ So dear people, do let us make wise our hours and days, and weeks, and months and pray for God’s guidance to help with the choices we’ll always be faced with, so we make good ones, yea? Alright. So after all said and done (… or writen and read… )…

Happy New Year. Happy New Month. Happy Jotted Down Resolutions. Happy Mentally Noted Resolutions. Happy Life!
The Lord is our strength😄

image

12 thoughts on “Mic Check 1….2….2016!

  1. Hi Oluchee,

    Didn’t realize that you were back to blogging. 🙂

    I find that there’s a positive correlation between the Quality of resolutions and Procrastination. The more likely a resolution is to improve our lives (i.e. A quality resolution) the more likely we are to procrastinate, beat about the bush, dilly-dally, until nothing gets done. Lol

    I wish you an improvement-filled 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol you just reminded me of maths.

      QR ~ P
      QR = KP
      QR (Qlty of resolution) is directly proportional to P (Procrastination).

      Now we have to just find a constant K, such that an increase in it will lead to a fall of P.

      Lol thanks dear. I wish me an improvement too

      Liked by 1 person

  2. (sidenote: research by noone really shows promises made to self are less likely to be taken seriously by ‘self’ but when other humans or wagers are involved, promises made to self can be given second and third thoughts by ‘self’. sidenote end).
    Lolz, this killed me.

    And here is to improving. I did a walkout on my blog too let cobweb grew in it. But hopefully like you I have decided it will change, so here is me making that promise to self that is not just to self but leaving it here as a wager.

    Like

  3. “bad things will happen to you just as well as good things, because bad and good things are likely to happen to a person” this is just the right word that needs to be spoken to every one on the eve of the new year but ironically, fear for your very existence…………welcome back, i really miss being here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe thanks dearie. Yes.. I know people that claim to be optimist and so never allow any negative thought come to their mind. Like if they think of any bad thing, they are permitting it to happen to them

      Like

    1. That is a comforting and pleasant thing to say. Thanks dear. You know.. I stumbled on that Murphy’s law not too long ago. Just recently started relating it to life.

      Like

What say you..

